Andreas Bucher

Software Engineer

The Ideal Place to Start After College

For the longest time, Andreas Bucher found it hard to imagine leaving his beautiful hometown. But when he got a job at Hamilton, he did just that – and was pleasantly surprised.

Chur is only 88 kilometers away from Rapperswil, but at the beginning, Andreas still felt like he was in a completely different world, at least geographically speaking. He spent his childhood and youth in Rapperswil on Lake Zurich, where he later also studied electrical engineering with a major in software engineering at the HSR Hochschule für Technik. For the longest time, he found it hard to imagine leaving his beautiful hometown. But when he got a job at Hamilton, he did just that – and was pleasantly surprised.

For a few months now, Andreas has been living in Chur West, in a modern high-rise building in the new town area of Chur. After flat sharing for several years, at 27 years old, he now has his own place for the first time. Here is what he has to say about Chur: “Chur’s nightlife is right on my doorstep, the mountains are only a stone’s throw away, and I can get to Hamilton by public transport within a few minutes.”

A Bachelor’s Thesis Leads to Permanent Employment
The first time he heard about Hamilton was during his time at college when the bachelor’s thesis topic was announced – the development of a RS-232 data logger dongle for Hamilton. In the context of the bachelor’s thesis, a functioning data recorder was developed, including software. Hamilton now produces the successor product derived from this product on a large scale. Intending to fill the gap between college and his long-held plans for going traveling, Andreas successfully applied for a four-month work placement at Hamilton. One thing led to another, and after the work placement, he was offered a permanent position as a software engineer in a team that is responsible for the user interface of ventilators. Andreas accepted the offer because this position was an ideal way to start his professional career. But before starting his working life once and for all, he went traveling for three months, visiting Cuba in order to learn Spanish, and the USA in order to improve his English.

Massive Code
Fast forward to the present, and Andreas has successfully completed his probationary period. He is thoroughly impressed with the company: “There is so much more to the coding than I first thought. You need time to understand everything. It’s best to take it step by step. One particularly interesting aspect of the job is also how complex the ventilation procedures are. And when you see the life-saving devices that you worked on being used, for example in a hospital or in a helicopter, it makes you truly proud to know that you contributed to such an important project.” He is also very impressed by the team. He praises the friendly atmosphere and helpful attitude of his coworkers.

Off to the Court
Andreas regularly heads to the squash court to let off some steam. A friend gave him the squash bug six years ago. Since then, he has been crushing opponents left, right, and center. But sometimes, he is the one who works up more of a sweat. “Whoever doesn’t feel completely exhausted at the end is the one who played better,” he says with a chuckle. He uses squash to clear his head. But it is not just on the squash court that you can find Andreas letting off steam – you are just as likely to find him at the Selig club or QBAR in Chur. “When it comes to going out, Chur is actually almost better than Rapperswil. And the people in Chur are more easygoing than in other places,” he says enthusiastically. Andreas has definitely made the Alpine town of Chur his home – and he plans to stay for quite a while.

Andreas Bucher

Software Engineer

Idealer Einstieg nach dem Studium.

Andreas Bucher konnte sich lange nicht vorstellen seine schöne Heimatstadt zu verlassen. Für den Job bei Hamilton hat er es trotzdem getan – und wurde positiv überrascht.

Rapperswil – Chur trennen nur 88 Kilometer und trotzdem fühlte sich Andreas zu Beginn in einer ganz anderen Welt – zumindest geografisch. Seine Kindheit und Jugend verbrachte er in Rapperswil am Zürichsee, wo er später an der Hochschule für Technik auch studiert hat: Elektrotechnik mit Vertiefung Software Engineering. Lange Zeit konnte er sich nicht vorstellen seine schöne Heimatstadt zu verlassen. Für den Job bei Hamilton hat er es trotzdem getan – und wurde positiv überrascht.

Seit ein paar Monaten wohnt Andreasin Chur West, in einem modernen Hochhaus im neuen Stadtteil von Chur. Nach einem mehrjährigen WG-Leben ist es die erste eigene Wohnung für den 27-Jährigen. Und er schätzt Chur:«Der Ausgang ist sozusagen vor der Haustüre, die Berge nur einen Katzensprung entfernt und Hamilton erreiche ich mit dem ÖV in wenigen Minuten.»

Von der Bachelorarbeit zur Festanstellung
Von Hamilton hörte er zum ersten Mal während des Studiums, als das Thema der Bachelorarbeit bekannt gegeben wurde – Entwickeln eines RS-232-Datenlogger-Dongles für Hamilton. Im Rahmen der Bachelorarbeit entstand ein funktionierender Datenrekorder inklusive Software. Die Weiterentwicklung dieses Produkts wird von Hamilton heute in grösserer Stückzahl produziert. Um die Zeit bis zu seiner seit längerem geplanten Reise zu überbrücken, bewarb sich Andreas bei Hamilton mit Erfolg um eine viermonatige Praktikumsstelle. Auf das Praktikum folgte die Möglichkeit auf eine Festanstellung als Software Engineer in einem Team, das für die Benutzeroberfläche der Beatmungsgeräte zuständig ist. Andreas sagte zu,weil diese Stelle nach dem Studium ein idealer Start ins Berufsleben ist. Doch bevor er sich definitiv ins Berufsleben stürzte, reiste er für drei Monate nach Kuba und in die USA, um Spanisch zu lernen und die Englischkenntnisse zu verbessern.

Gigantischer Code
Mittlerweile hat Andreas die Probezeit erfolgreich überstanden und ist rundum begeistert: «Der Code ist sehr viel umfangreicher als ich gedacht habe. Man braucht Zeit, um das Ganze zu verstehen und arbeitet sich Schritt für Schritt voran. Hoch interessant ist auch die Komplexität der Beatmungsvorgänge. Und wenn man die lebensrettenden Geräte im Einsatz sieht – in einem Spital oder in einem Helikopter beispielsweise– macht es schon stolz zu wissen, dass man daran mitgearbeitet hat. »Auch das Team hat es ihm angetan, er lobt das freundschaftliche Arbeitsklima und die Hilfsbereitschaft der Kollegen.

Ab in den Court
Um sich auszupowern geht Andreas regelmässig in die Squashhalle, den Court.Vor sechs Jahren wurde er von einem Freund mit dem Squash-Virus infiziert. Seither jagt er seine Gegner gern von einer Ecke in die andere. Und manchmal ist er derjenige, der arg ins Schwitzen kommt. «Wer am Schluss noch fit ist, hat besser gespielt», sagt er lachend. Er mag die Sportart, um den Kopf frei zu kriegen. Doch nicht nur beim Austoben in der Squashhalle, sondern auch im Club Selig oder in der Q-Bar in Chur trifft man Andreas.«Ausgehtechnisch ist Chur fast noch besser als Rapperswil. Und die Leute sind lockerer drauf als an andern Orten», schwärmt er. Andreas ist definitiv in der Alpenstadt angekommen – und wird noch eine Weile bleiben.