Fabian Eng

Design Draftsman

A Passion for Fine Products

Fabian Eng knows exactly how to put his talents to the best possible use in order to achieve his aims.
Whether he is designing fine products or battling against the elements, he is an expert.

Fabian Eng has been working at Hamilton as a design draftsman since 2013. Now 29, Fabian could have seen himself working at Hamilton much earlier in his career – after all, he did his first work experience at Hamilton when he was training to be a designer. After an apprenticeship at another company and doing his military service, Fabian felt himself drawn back to the school desk once again. He enrolled at the Center for Continuing Professional Development (Zentrum für berufliche Weiterbildung – ZbW) in St. Gallen to train as a qualified mechanical engineering technician over the course of three years alongside his work. After spending 10 years with the same employer, he felt the time was right for a change. “I have always been interested in medical and laboratory devices, so Hamilton is ideal for me,” he explains.

From Syringes to Needles to Valves
He is responsible for customer-specific inquiries, and for designing syringes, needles, and valves. In addition to ongoing projects, he also works on development projects. A development project that he worked on during the last few years was a standard portfolio for needles and valves. This was a very complex project, but he powered through it by using his initiative and by exhibiting exemplary perseverance. Over the course of countless hours, he conducted tests, recorded and evaluated data, and then produced over 100 drawings of the different product variants. The end result is a brochure that makes it easier for customers to customize and order the product that is right for them.

When Fabian talks about his project, you can see his face light up. You truly can feel his enthusiasm for the fine products he makes. What he appreciates about his job is that he has the opportunity to contribute his ideas and develop something new. He also likes the short lines of communication and the congenial attitude within the team. “Two of the people in our team have been there for more than 20 years now. We younger team members benefit from their skill and experience, and they benefit from our knowledge of the latest technical advances. This means that we are always sharing ideas, which helps to prevent organizational blindness.”

Always Ready for Action
After a demanding day working very precisely and at a very high level of concentration, Fabian looks to sport for balance. He also keeps a balance in his life by doing something different with his spare time, namely battling the elements: Fabian has been a firefighter in the Landquart Fire Brigade for two years now. Thanks to his congenial approach to his colleagues and his skills as a truck driver (gained during his time in the military), he was quickly promoted to the position of group leader. This means even more time and effort is required of him than before. Therefore, it is not unusual to see him at the fire department depot on a weekly basis. He does a lot for the fire brigade at home too – he prepares lessons and exercises, for instance. Then in addition to all of that, there are the emergencies (around 50 per year) such as building fires or forest fires, floods, road accidents, and animals that need to be rescued. But Fabian’s choice to help people was a conscious one, and he remains relaxed despite his packed schedule.

Fabian Eng

Construction Designer

Fabian Eng versteht es, seine Talente zielgerichtet und nützlich einzusetzen.
Ob beim Design von filigranen Produkten oder beim Kampf gegen die Elemente.

Fabian Eng ist seit 2013 bei Hamilton als Constructing Designer angestellt. Der heute 29-Jährige hätte sich aber schon viel früher vorstellen können bei Hamilton einzusteigen, denn bereits die Schnupperlehre zum Konstrukteur hat er hier absolviert. Nach der Lehre in einem anderen Unternehmen und dem Militärdienst drückte Fabian erneut die Schulbank. Er schrieb sich an der ZbW St. Gallen für den Studiengang „Dipl. Maschinentechniker HF“ ein. Drei Jahre dauerte die berufsbegleitende Weiterbildung. Nach zehn Jahren beim gleichen Arbeitgeber war die Zeit reif für einen Wechsel. «Medizin- und Laborgeräte haben mich schon immer interessiert – da ist Hamilton ideal», erklärt er.

Von Spritzen über Nadeln bis hin zu Ventilen

Er ist für kundenspezifische Anfragen zuständig, entwirft Spritzen, Nadeln und Ventile. Nebst den laufenden Aufträgen arbeitet er auch an Entwicklungsprojekten, indem er in den letzten Jahren ein Standard Portfolio für Nadeln und Ventile entworfen hat. Ein aufwendiges Projekt, das er mit viel Eigeninitiative und Ausdauer vorantrieb. Stundenlang hat er getestet, Daten aufgenommen und ausgewertet sowie anschliessend über 100 Zeichnungen der verschiedenen Varianten erstellt. Entstanden ist ein Flyer, der es den Kunden vereinfacht, das für sie richtige Produkt zu konfigurieren und zu bestellen.

Während Fabian von seinem Projekt erzählt, blüht er förmlich auf. Man spürt seine Begeisterung für die filigranen Produkte. An seinem Job schätzt er die Möglichkeit, seine Ideen einzubringen und etwas Neues zu entwickeln. Zudem mag er die kurzen Kommunikationswege und den kollegialen Umgang im Team. «Zwei in unserem Team sind bereits seit über 20 Jahren dabei. Wir Jüngeren profitieren von ihrem Know-how und sie wiederum vom technischen Fortschritt. Da herrscht ein guter Erfahrungsaustausch und Betriebsblindheit wird vorgebeugt.»

Allzeit bereit für den nächsten Einsatz
Nach einem Tag hochkonzentriertem und genauem Arbeiten findet er den Ausgleich im Sport. Oder er kämpft gegen die Elemente. Seit zwei Jahren gehört Fabian zur Feuerwehrmannschaft der Stützpunkt-Feuerwehr Landquart. Durch seinen guten Zugang zu den Kollegen und seiner Kenntnis als Lastwagenfahrer (ein Relikt aus seiner Zeit beim Militär) wurde er rasch zum Gruppenführer befördert. Das bedeutet noch mehr Aufwand für das sowieso schon zeitintensive Engagement. So ist es auch nicht erstaunlich, wenn man ihn wöchentlich im Feuerwehr-Depot antrifft. Und auch zuhause macht er viel für die Feuerwehr, bereitet Lektionen und Übungseinsätze vor. Dazu kommen die Notfälle – rund 50 pro Jahr – wie Gebäude- oder Waldbrände, Überschwemmungen, Strassenrettungen oder Tiere in Not. Doch Fabian hat sich bewusst entschieden zu helfen. Und wirkt trotz seines vollen Terminkalenders sehr entspannt.