Kim Haltiner

Mechanical Engineer

From College to Hamilton

As a development engineer, Kim Haltiner works on plastic parts for ventilators. In his free time, he gets his kicks from climbing.

Even during his training as a multi-skilled mechanic, Kim Haltiner already knew that he did not want to spend his future standing behind a machine all day. He needed to find an alternative. He completed the Swiss Federal Vocational Baccalaureate and then studied engineering and innovation at the HSR Hochschule für Technik in Rapperswil. Since he chose plastics engineering as his major, after college, he was looking for a job in plastics processing – and he found one at Hamilton. “Plastic is a very versatile material that offers countless design possibilities. I find plastics much more exciting than metalworking. It is definitely a material with a bright future,” says Kim.

The Perfect Debut
The job at Hamilton is his first full-time job after college “and the first one with a real salary,” he says with a mischievous grin. Since March 2017, he has been working as a development engineer in the Respiratory Care Supplies department, working on masks, tubes, and sensors – plastic parts that connect the ventilator and the patient. He describes his job as very varied – there is no set order of doing things. This means he is free to switch back and forth between projects, analyzing problems, designing with CAD, and arranging laboratory tests. “The job is everything I hoped for. At college, we were already tackling a lot of development projects. I like project-based, independent work. And that is exactly what I have found here.” The 26-year-old settled into the job very quickly, which is in no small part thanks to his team. “I was so glad to find so many great people working here. Everyone is very open and helpful.”

Seeking Vertical Thrills
Another big first is coming up for Kim in September: he is moving in with his girlfriend in Chur. This will be their first shared apartment. One really convenient thing about the new apartment is that it is right next to the indoor climbing wall. Two or three times a week, they go to the climbing wall to train and hone their climbing technique. Kim, who discovered climbing as a teenager, explains that they do this because, along with strength and conditioning, you need the right technique. “What’s interesting about climbing is that you make progress quickly and you can set your limits and goals yourself. And of course, there’s that feeling of adrenaline pumping through your veins when you scale the rock.”

Kim Haltiner

Mechanical Engineer

Von der Hochschule zu Hamilton.

Als Entwicklungs-Ingenieur bearbeitet Kim Haltiner Kunststoffteile für Beatmungsgeräte.In der Freizeit sucht er den Adrenalin-Kick am Felsen.

Kim Haltiner merkte bereits während der Ausbildung zum Polymechaniker, dass er künftig nicht den ganzen Tag an einer Maschine stehen möchte. Eine Alternative musste her. Er absolvierte die technische Berufsmaturaund studierte «Maschinenbau Innovation» an der HSR (Hochschule für Technik Rapperswil). Da er als Vertiefungsrichtung Kunststofftechnik wählte, suchte er anschliessend einen Job in der Kunststoffverarbeitung – und wurde bei Hamilton fündig. «Kunststoff ist ein vielfältiges Produkt mit unzähligen gestalterischen Möglichkeiten. Anders als die Metallbearbeitung finde ich Kunststoff viel spannender. Definitiv ein Material mit Zukunft», sagt Kim.

Erfolgreiche Premiere
Der Job bei Hamilton ist seine erste Vollzeitstelle nach dem Studium «und die erste Stelle mit richtigem Lohn», meint er mit einem verschmitzten Lächeln. Seit März 2017 arbeitet er als Entwicklungs-Ingenieur in der Abteilung «Respiratory Care Supplies» und bearbeitet Masken, Schläuche und Sensoren – Kunststoffteile, die sich zwischen dem Beatmungsgerät und dem Patienten befinden. Seinen Job beschreibt er als sehr abwechslungsreich, einen vorgegebenen Ablauf gibt es nicht. So jongliert er gekonnt zwischen seinen Projekten, analysiert Probleme, formiert am CAD und richtet Versuche im Labor ein. «Der Job entspricht genau meinen Vorstellungen. Schon während dem Studium haben wir viele Entwicklungsprojekte realisiert. Ich mag das projektbezogene und selbständige Arbeiten. Und genau das habe ich hier gefunden.» Der 26-Jährige hat sich in der kurzen Zeit gut eingelebt, was er auch seinem Team zu verdanken hat. «Ich war erfreut, wie viele sympathische Leute hier arbeiten. Alle sind sehr offen und hilfsbereit.»

Senkrechter Adrenalinschub
Im September steht eine weitere Premiere an: Kim zieht mit seiner Freundin in die erste gemeinsame Wohnung in Chur. Wie praktisch, dass sich die Kletterhalle direkt neben ihrer neuen Wohnung befindet. Zwei bis dreimal pro Woche trainieren sie in der Halle und feilen an ihrer Technik. Denn nebst Kraft und Kondition brauche man vor allem die richtige Technik, erklärt Kim, der das Klettern schon als Teenager für sich entdeckt hat. «Das Interessante am Klettern sind die schnellen Fortschritte und dass man sich seine Grenzen und Ziele selber setzen kann. Und natürlich das Adrenalin, das durch die Adern pumpt, wenn man den Fels erklimmt.»