Between worlds.

Regina Alves is a commuter – between the stage and office, heart and brain, South America and Switzerland. She feels at home wherever a challenge awaits her.

Regina Alves has measured exactly where the tattoo underneath her left wrist should be so that it is still covered by her shirt sleeve. She plans to hide the motif, a clef, at work – not because she must, but because she wants to. “Every person has two sides”, says the Brazilian native. “I live out my artistic, romantic side in music and my serious side at work.” However, these two sides do not just mix on Regina’s wrist, but throughout her life.

“I would like to study abroad. Can I perform here?” she asked for two years as she went from bar to bar, weekend after weekend, in her hometown of Fortaleza to raise money. Her plan was not to go just anywhere abroad, but to Europe. To put it more precisely: to the place where they offer the best education possible. “I quickly knew”, she says, “what I needed to study to get a foothold in Switzerland.”

Switzerland, Graubünden, Hamilton Bonaduz: Regina’s tasks as a production engineer include organising services and coordinating the engineers in the field, as she explains in English. “I basically translate between them”, says Regina. “To do that, I have to understand both perspectives.” In terms of organisational structure, she is at the interface between customers and engineers. In terms of location, Regina can be found at her workplace on the lower level of the Hamilton building. The Swiss, US and Graubünden flags fly in front of the lobby as they are whipped by the wind whistling over the mountains and into the valley. “I love the view here”, she says. Regina uses her lunch break for walks, past the field where vegetables can be harvested and with the mountain ranges lined by forests always within sight. “But I only do that when it’s warm enough”, she adds. “After all, I’m Brazilian.”

During the first few months at Hamilton, she worked in production. It was a department like the one she had run in Brazil. “I didn’t mind the change”, she says. “That’s how I got to know the other side” – and Regina had no choice but to speak German right from the beginning. “Many people who work in production hardly speak English”, she remarks. “And anyway, it is more polite to speak German in Switzerland.” Three times a week she attends a B2 German course, that is, the level for independent use of language. “Usually, all the courses together take five years”, she says. “I would like to complete them within two.”

But words are not always enough, no matter how many you know. “If I can’t find the words”, says Regina , “I find a song.” Every week she takes the songs about love that result from this lack of words and practises them with her band “What the Funk” in a rehearsal room in Chur. She got to know the members of the band after she had sent an e-mail to the HR department at Hamilton, saying “If you want, I’ll play a few songs”. HR responded by booking her for the company Christmas party. One of the 1,250 employees at the party approached her and said: “I play bass and have an idea for a band. Would you maybe want to jam together sometime?” At the rehearsals and performances of “What the Funk”, he plays bass guitar, while another member wields the saxophone. Regina plays guitar, drums and sings. “The band is like a small family”, she says and adds: “Like my team at work.”

She left a lot behind in Brazil: friends and relatives, her network in the music scene, her first gigs in front of several thousand people. But she has achieved everything she could have wished for since she made the decision to come to Switzerland 10 years ago. Except for one thing: “I get the German articles wrong 90% of the time,” she says. “But I try again and again anyway.” Giving up is for others.

Logo_graubünden

Life & Work in Grison

In the home of “Heidi” and “Schellen-Ursli”, research and production is on a global level: in Grison, there are international and national companies from the main sectors of plastics and chemistry, machine and tool construction, electronics and sensor technology or life sciences. The demand for specialists and young engineers from the engineering sector is strong and growing- as are the development opportunities.

Logo_Hamilton

More about us

Hamilton is a global player and technology leader in life science, storage, measurement and medtec. Hamilton produces precision instruments for research and industry as well as intelligent ventilators. The company is also strongly represented in the growth markets of genetics and robotics. The group currently employs over 3000 people worldwide, including over 1300 in Bonaduz and Domat / Ems in Grisons Rhine Valley.

Zwischen den Welten

Regina Alves ist eine Pendlerin – zwischen Bühne und Büro, zwischen Herz und Hirn, zwischen Südamerika und der Schweiz. Daheim fühlt sie sich überall dort, wo eine Herausforderung wartet.

Regina Alves hat genau abgemessen, bis wo das Tattoo auf der Unterseite ihres linken Handgelenkes reichen darf, damit es noch vom Ärmel ihres Hemdes verdeckt wird. Das Motiv, das sie bei der Arbeit versteckt – nicht weil sie muss, sondern weil sie möchte: ein Notenschlüssel. «Jeder Mensch hat zwei Seiten», sagt die Brasilianerin. «Ich lebe meine künstlerische, romantische Seite in der Musik und meine seriöse Seite bei der Arbeit.» Diese zwei Seiten, sie vermischen sich jedoch nicht nur auf da Silvas Handgelenk, sondern in ihrem ganzen Leben.

«Ich möchte im Ausland studieren. Kann ich hier auftreten?» fragte sie zwei Jahre lang, um in ihrer Heimatstadt Fortaleza Wochenende für Wochenende von Bar zu Bar zu tingeln und Geld zu sammeln. Nicht irgendwohin ins Ausland sollte die Reise gehen, sondern nach Europa. Genauer: Dorthin, wo es die beste Bildung gibt. «Ich wusste rasch», sagt sie, «welches Studium ich brauche, um in der Schweiz Fuss fassen zu können.»

Schweiz, Graubünden, Hamilton Bonaduz: Zu Regina Alves’ Aufgaben als Betriebsingenieurin gehört es, Services zu organisieren und die «Engineers in the field» zu koordinieren, wie sie auf Englisch sagt. «Ich übersetze quasi zwischen ihnen», sagt Regina Alves. «Dafür muss ich beide Perspektiven verstehen.» Sie sitzt organisatorisch gesprochen an der Schnittstelle zwischen Kunden und Technikern. Örtlich gesprochen an ihrem Arbeitsplatz im Untergeschoss des Gebäudes, vor dessen Eingangsfoyer die Flaggen der Schweiz, der USA und Graubündens im Wind wehen. «Ich liebe die Aussicht hier», sagt Regina Alves. Die Mittagspause nutzt sie für Spaziergänge, vorbei am Feld, auf dem Gemüse selbst geerntet werden kann, die von Wäldern gesäumten Bergmassive stets im Sichtfeld. «Das mache ich aber nur, wenn es heiss genug ist», sagt sie, «schliesslich bin ich Brasilianerin.»

In den ersten Monaten bei Hamilton arbeitete sie in der Produktion. Einer Abteilung, wie sie sie in Brasilien selbst geleitet hatte. «Der Wechsel machte mir nichts aus», sagt sie. «So lernte ich auch die andere Seite kennen» – und ihr blieb keine andere Wahl, als von Anfang an Deutsch zu sprechen. «Viele Menschen, die in der Produktion arbeiten, haben nur wenig Englischkenntnisse», sagt sie. Und sowieso sei es höflicher, in der Schweiz Deutsch zu sprechen. Dreimal wöchentlich besucht sie einen Kurs auf dem Niveau B2, selbstständige Sprachverwendung. «Üblicherweise dauern alle Kurse zusammen fünf Jahre», sagt sie. «Ich möchte sie in zwei schaffen.»

Doch nicht immer genügen Worte, egal wie viele man von ihnen kennt. «Wenn ich keine Worte finde», sagt Regina Alves, «finde ich einen Song». Die Lieder über Liebe, die daraus entstehen, übt sie wöchentlich mit ihrer Band What the Funk in einem Proberaum in Chur. Die Mitglieder der Band lernte sie kennen, nachdem sie eine E-Mail mit den Worten «wenn ihr wollt, spiele ich ein paar Songs» an die HR-Abteilung von Hamilton sendete. Zurück kam eine Antwort mit der Zusage für die Weihnachtsfeier. Er spiele Bass und trage ein Konzept für eine Band mit sich herum, sagte einer ihrer 1.250 Mitarbeiter an der Feier. Ob sie nicht einmal zusammen jammen wollen. Bei den Proben und Auftritten von What the Funk spielt er Bassgitarre, ein weiteres Mitglied Saxophon, Regina Alves spielt Gitarre und Schlagzeug, und singt. «Die Band ist wie eine kleine Familie», sagt sie und ergänzt: «Wie mein Team bei der Arbeit.»

In Brasilien hat sie vieles hinter sich gelassen: Freunde und Verwandte, ihr Netzwerk in der Musikszene, die ersten Auftritte vor mehreren Tausend Menschen. Doch sie habe alles erreicht, was sie sich wünschte, seit sie vor zehn Jahren den Entschluss gefasst hatte, in die Schweiz zu kommen. Bis auf eine Sache: «Bei den deutschen Artikeln liege ich in 90 Prozent der Fälle falsch», sagt sie. «Aber ich versuche es trotzdem immer wieder.» Aufgeben, das überlässt sie den anderen.

Logo_graubünden

Leben & Arbeiten in Graubünden

In der Heimat von Heidi und Schellen-Ursli wird auf Weltniveau geforscht und produziert: In Graubünden finden sich internationale und nationale Firmen aus den Schwerpunktbranchen Kunststoffe und Chemie, Maschinen- und Werkzeugbau, Elektronik und Sensorik oder Life Sciences. Die Nachfrage nach Spezialisten und Nachwuchs aus dem Ingenieurbereich ist gross – ebenso wie die Entwicklungsmöglichkeiten.

Logo_Hamilton

Mehr über uns

Die weltweit tätige Hamilton gehört zu den Technologieführern in den Bereichen Life-Science, Storage, Measurement und Medtec. Hamilton produziert Präzisionsinstrumente für Forschung und Industrie sowie intelligente Beatmungsgeräte. Zudem ist die Unternehmung stark vertreten in den Wachstumsmärkten Genetik und Robotik. Aktuell beschäftigt die Gruppe weltweit über 3000 Mitarbeitern, davon über 1200 in Bonaduz und Domat/Ems im Bündner Rheintal.